December 2013 Release

Rating:        Based on 28 ratings
Reviewed:  27 reviews
Downloads: 202582
Released: Dec 13, 2013
Updated: Dec 14, 2013 by Superexpert
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application Ajax Control Toolkit .NET 4
application, 11288K, uploaded Dec 14, 2013 - 142644 downloads

Other Available Downloads

Application Ajax Control Toolkit .NET 4.5
application, 11288K, uploaded Dec 14, 2013 - 28417 downloads
Application Ajax Control Toolkit .NET 3.5
application, 8546K, uploaded Dec 14, 2013 - 31521 downloads

Release Notes

AJAX Control Toolkit Release Notes - December 2013 Release

Version 7.1213

December 2013 release of the AJAX Control Toolkit.
  • AJAX Control Toolkit .NET 4.5 – AJAX Control Toolkit for .NET 4.5 and sample site (Recommended).
  • AJAX Control Toolkit .NET 4 – AJAX Control Toolkit for .NET 4 and sample site (Recommended).
  • AJAX Control Toolkit .NET 3.5 – AJAX Control Toolkit for .NET 3.5 and sample site (Recommended).


Notes:
- Instructions for using the AJAX Control Toolkit with ASP.NET 4.5 can be found at http://stephenwalther.com/archive/2012/09/20/september-2012-release-of-the-ajax-control-toolkit.aspx
- The current version of the AJAX Control Toolkit is not compatible with ASP.NET 2.0. The latest version that is compatible with ASP.NET 2.0 can be found here: 20229.
- You must use the ToolkitScriptManager instead of the ScriptManager with the Ajax Control Toolkit.
- You must use Visual Studio 2012 to view or modify the source code for the Ajax Control Toolkit.
- Instructions for contributing a bug report can be found at http://www.asp.net/ajaxlibrary/act_contribute_bug.ashx

What's New?

This release of the Ajax Control Toolkit includes a new version of the Tabs control rewritten using jQuery. It also includes several important bug fixes.

For details on the new features included with this release, please see Stephen Walther's blog post at http://stephenwalther.com/archive/2013/12/14/ajax-control-toolkit-december-2013-release
  • Tabs control - Completely rewritten using jQuery and the jQueryExtender base class.
  • Add and Remove Scripts - New <add> and <remove> elements can be used in the AjaxControlToolkit.config file to add or remove scripts from the script bundle generated by the Ajax Control Toolkit.
  • HTMLEditor Control - The HTMLEditor control has been updated to work with the new Ajax Control Toolkit bundling and minification framework.
  • AjaxFileUpload and Windows Azure Websites - The AjaxFileUpload control was updated to resolve an issue concerning the TMP folder in a Windows Azure Website.

Getting Started

Learn how to install the toolkit and add the toolkit to the Visual Studio/Visual Web Developer toolbox with the following videos and tutorials.

This release of the Ajax Control Toolkit was brought to you by Superexpert Consulting -- we build ASP.NET websites

Reviews for this release

     
CombineScripts still not working. MaskedEditExtender's ClearMaskOnLostFocus still does not work. MaskedEditExtender still not handling all cultures.
by janastasio on Jan 23 at 10:47 PM
     
tab control bug in IE8 is reported fixed but still tabs don't show at all, leaving a blank area on the page instead. The rest seems fairly good so far.
by qatqat on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:04 AM
     
Last few releases of AjaxControlToolkit are BIG problem. There are major braking changes, and major bugs casing random JavaScript malfunctions.
by Dzonny on Dec 23, 2013 at 2:21 PM
     
There are so many issues I can't even begin to say what all is wrong, but all of the other reviews cover or mention the same issues I'm having. I have actually had to spend a day just to remove the entire Ajax Tool Kit from my project and am now having to do my own coding to replace the Text Box Filtering, Extenders, etc. that I was using. If I had created a product like this, I would now be looking for a new job.
by W2BLJ on Mar 26 at 11:52 AM
     
Why is now High/Full trust necessary? Alsmost no provider has full trust settings. Ok, i could pay my provider 140$ for an extra application pool but i don't want to. ->Ok then downgrade now...
by mb0815 on Tue at 8:07 AM
     
Well, its probably not this lib's fault, but using this with the VS tooling (2013), which one would think should be seamless, just isn't worth the time (sadly). I won't give it a 1 star because of that. Even with the corrections noted (modifying scaffolding code), doesn't solve issues. At the end of the day, unfortunately, the easiest way out is to not use it (remove all ref of it from your Web Forms project). Digging into errors, I'm sure you could resolve things...but at that point, the question to ask - "is it worth your time"? If yes, go for it. I haven't found a reason to say yes yet...I (so far) am of the mindset that whatever this lib does, can be done some other way, without assembly/version/etc. issues.
by EdSF on Sat at 7:45 PM
     
Experiencing javascript error "Object doesn't support this property or method" when using TabContainer control in IE8 with this release. Works just fine in IE9 or higher. Rolled back to the September 2013 release and it fixed the issue.
by smckenna on May 23 at 7:06 PM
     
Last few releases have been buggy, basic things no longer work.
by mattstonedallas on May 21 at 2:01 PM
     
5/15/14 I attempted to use the tab control from this release and an exception occurs in IE 8, but not in Firefox 29.0.1. My customer (government organization) uses IE8 and will continue to do so for the unforeseen future. I will seek a solution for tabs elsewhere. VS2012 update 4 ASP.NET 4.0 Error: Unhandled exception at line 32, column 13 in http://localhost:24555/ScriptResource.axd? 0x800a01b6 - Microsoft JScript runtime error: Object doesn't support this property or method Offending line "self._tabIndex = opt.owner.get_tabs().length;"
by uberknot on May 15 at 4:28 PM
     
Combine scripts????
by NicoBeltrame on May 12 at 8:26 AM
     
Timer control is not working with this release. AsyncFileUpload control shows an extra div(.._headerSpannerHeight) while used with the popup extender.
by imubashar on Apr 30 at 4:59 PM
     
Trying to upgrade old project, if using ScriptManager Sys.Extended returns a null. If you upgrade all old ScriptManager tags to new ToolkitScriptManager Server error gets raised that tells you Common.Common.js resource is missing Assembly 'AjaxControlToolkit, Version=4.5.7.1213, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=28f01b0e84b6d53e' contains a Web resource with name 'Common.Common.js', but does not contain an embedded resource with name 'Common.Common.js'.
by hintzen on Apr 19 at 12:07 AM
     
Slow! Executes take longer. Found bugs such as clearing a textbox with a javascript requires a partial postback for the change to take affect. Thus far the best release I found and still using is version 7.0123.
by krutovdl on Mar 19 at 1:53 PM
     
1. Error when loading a user control that contains FilteredTextboxExtender. 2. Files uploaded by AjaxFileUpload with IE9 can't open. If a JPG, says corrupt file. There were only signs, instead of text/letters, in the document if it was a WORD file. Works fine with Firefox. 3. About No.2, why this works fine http://www.asp.net/ajaxLibrary/AjaxControlToolkitSampleSite/AjaxFileUpload/AjaxFileUpload.aspx but the sample code I downloaded doesn't work?
by MeiLai on Mar 14 at 3:46 PM
     
Lost half a day to fixing problems after updating ACT - note that if you have EnableCdn="true" on your script manager and you use a different version of jQuery to 1.9.1 on your pages, the latest versions WILL NOT WORK. Set EnableCdn="false" to force ACT to use its own bundled version of jQuery (you'll then be requiring your users to download 2 versions of jQuery, but at least it will work). Also note that you must create an AjaxControlToolkit.config file in your site root and add a <controlBundle> to import any ACT controls you use, otherwise the javascript will not be loaded and your controls again WILL NOT WORK. These breaking changes, along with the quite alarming dependencies that ACT pulls in with it from nuGet, are really making me want to rip ACT out of the project and replace it with native jQuery/jQueryUI.
by machinewrapped on Feb 21 at 9:01 AM
     
Stable? you have to be kidding. Simple maskededitextender for a numeric field is broken! <ajaxToolkit:MaskedEditExtender ID="QuantityMask" runat="server" AcceptNegative="None" MaskType="Number" Mask="9999999" TargetControlID="QuantityEdit" InputDirection="RightToLeft" AutoComplete="false" ClearMaskOnLostFocus="true"> </ajaxToolkit:MaskedEditExtender> insists on leaving the mask placeholder characters in the input, breaking the conversion to an integer type that is bound to the field. I can't even intercept the updating event of the containing listview to fix it. The Jan 2013 version at least accepted that, but would not allow correction of invalid data with backspace or delete (in chrome anyway). A lot more regression testing of existing features needs to be done because you are breaking basic stuff that used to work!
by DaveBLegg on Feb 14 at 7:24 PM
     
In existing asp.net programs we are getting this error after downloading the December 2013 Ajax Toolkit Release: "Could not load file or assembly 'AjaxControlToolkit' or one of its dependencies. The located assembly's manifest definition does not match the assembly reference. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80131040) " This is a bloated release with incompatible dependencies.
by bmccollneb on Feb 13 at 4:03 PM
     
It's stable, just like the Tacoma Narrows bridge. You would be better off buying a control pack somewhere. Issues that have been in the controls for a long time are not fixed, and don't appear like they will be.
by dilbert789 on Feb 11 at 2:38 PM
     
The December release broke the TabContainer in IE8. We have to support IE8+ and this library is maintained far too casually for production use.
by jperson on Feb 5 at 11:04 PM
     
Release is as poor as the previous ones. Can't be used in productive system or with clients using IE8. More bugs, no fixes and new features that nobody needs. Please let all developers know that minimum client requirement is IE9 or higher!
by efcoyote on Jan 30 at 1:43 PM
     
There are errors in Confirmation Modal, sometimes it works, sometimes not.
by armandoamor on Jan 28 at 12:19 AM
     
I use .Net 3.5 version... After lasted version download AjaxFileUpload is not multiple select files.. so, 2013-01 version is perfect. It works fine to AjaxFileUpload multiple select files. fix AjaxFileUpload .Net 3.5
by jinukjin on Jan 24 at 6:16 AM
     
The idea and the way it was designed are incredible easy and is far away the easiest way to use ajax on ASPX pages. But the bugs are out of control. Some examples simple does not work in VS2012 (using the .net 4.5 "empty website" template). I used version 4.1.7.1213 and decided to abandon to another technology. I trowed away one week of good work, sadly.
by Desmark on Jan 18 at 12:41 PM
     
Can't make it working on MSVS2012.
by globus000 on Jan 15 at 1:50 PM
     
Too many bugs. It doesn't work at all in production environment. (debug=false).
by gprina on Jan 8 at 1:29 PM
     
There appears to be some auto generated scripting errors when using this version of Ajax Toolkit with IE 11. One specifically I have tracked down is the HTML Editor extender targeted to a text box. When loading or unload the extender the auto generated behavior.js script produces a NUL value error related to using the select method.
by Rdavidd on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:48 PM
     
Nice work, it works very well. Great additions ADD and REMOVE script and finally very clear tutorial for ScriptManager and UsingJQuery. Thank you for HTMLEditor reactivated indispensable in the admin side of a CMS project. Happy Holidays and a Happy New Job
by CarCarlo147 on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:55 AM